Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Natalee
Curious October 2018 Ontario

Wording on Invites...

Natalee, on March 6, 2018 at 20:55 Posted in Plan a wedding 0 13

Hi there, Newbie here.

I am inviting about 80 people to a sit down dinner and maybe 20 extras to the reception afterwards. I would like to know if there is a way to invite the 20 extra people to the ceremony as well and then not the dinner without being Rude or insensitive...or just leave them out of the ceremony all together? Help please?

I really want them a part of the whole day just cannot afford it.

Thank you for any help you can give.

Natalee

13 Comments

Latest activity by Marie-Claire, on March 8, 2018 at 10:01
  • Marie-Claire
    Devoted August 2018 Quebec
    Marie-Claire ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content

It really depends what relationship you have with them. I have been invited to a ceremony and reception without the dinner before, and I certainly wasn't offended, because I wasn't that close to the bride and groom and knew they couldn't afford to pay dinner for everyone. Also, I was with a group of friends, so we just went to a restaurant together.

In that case, they just invited us in person, so that's not much help for the wording, but basically they told us to join them for the dance.

I think inviting people to join you for the dance or for dessert would work, since both of those options imply that there's no meal included.

• Natalee
    Natalee ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    I will ask the 20 to come to the dance and if some ask to come to ceremony then I will tell them it’s ok.
  • Natalee
    Natalee ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    Thank you ladies. All your words pretty much summed up how I was feeling. Pretty hard to do what I was wanting to do. Smiley cry
    Just trying to make everyone happy but I don’t think it’s going to happen.
    Thanks again.
  • Courtney
    Super July 2018 Ontario