Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Abbie
Devoted June 2022 Nova Scotia

Photography disagreement

Abbie, on June 15, 2021 at 12:04 Posted in Plan a wedding 0 34
Hi all!

So I’m having a huge struggle with trying to explain why hiring a professional photographer is so important to me to my parents. FH is on my side - you (hopefully!!) only have one wedding and you only get one chance at capturing these memories.
My parents are having sticker shock and want us to consider amateur, friend of friends etc candidates. They’re throwing out prices (probably around $800), saying that they’re “good” but nothing concrete. My problem with this is two fold:
1) we are almost a year out so need to book ASAP2) there are no guarantees with a hobbyist. Not diminishing anyone’s skill as a hobbyist by any means (I am a hobby photographer) but say they get sick the day of the wedding, camera malfunctions, etc etc. What about postproduction? Will they know where to position themselves?
Yes, we are trying to keep to the most reasonably priced wedding we can. But I don’t think it’s worth pinching pennies on absolutely everything to get there! Any thoughts?

34 Comments

Latest activity by Abbie, on June 23, 2021 at 07:21
  • Abbie
    Abbie ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    Good advice! I’m sure it’s like herding cats so any tips are greatly appreciated! Smiley laugh
  • Vinod
    Top August 2017 Ontario
    Vinod ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    If you're considering group pictures after the ceremony, its best to let guests know not to leave after. I had my brother gather the groups together by name to take pictures ib order.
  • Abbie
    Abbie ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    That’s a great idea - I’m all about lists!!
  • Vinod
    Top August 2017 Ontario
    Vinod ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content