Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Tracy
Curious September 2018 Quebec

How much, or what percentage of the total amount deposit on a wedding venue?

Tracy, on March 22, 2017 at 23:02 Posted in Plan a wedding 0 13

Hello,

I'm new to this whole planning a wedding thing. How do wedding venues calculate how much security deposit and saving the date to request?

Thanks in advance!

13 Comments

Latest activity by Katrin, on January 17, 2019 at 11:52
  • Katrin
    Frequent user September 2019 Ontario
    Katrin ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content

Ours requested a 50% deposit, and so did our catering.

• Vinod
    Top August 2017 Ontario
    Vinod ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content

Our venue had 4 payments breakdown throughout the time frame and by dates provided. Venues differ deposit amounts or percentages based on the area or place. Inquire to be sure and get the details.

• Geody
    Beginner July 2018 Alberta
    Geody ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    For ours we had to put 30% of the minimum spend +rental fee to book the venue . It is refundable as long as cancellation is no less than 90 days before but they have a 500$ retainer fee .
  • Simone
    Master August 2017 Manitoba
    Simone ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    I agree with the others. It really depends on the vendor. Most will ask for a deposit of 50%. Others might allow you to make down payments and have the balance due either before or day of the wedding.
  • Louise
    Devoted September 2017 Quebec
    Louise ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    It totally depends on the venue and what their rules are. I paid $2000 to reserve my date, 4 months later we paid $3000 and the remainder is due 2 weeks before the wedding.
    My wedding dress I paid in full as it was a sample. Flowers were around $150 for the deposit. Our videographer and DJ required a $300 deposit.