Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Michelle
Newbie July 2019 Ontario

Photography Nightmare Come True

Michelle, on July 12, 2019 at 18:43 Posted in Just married 0 18

My wedding was last weekend and our photographer just informed me one of the memory cards corrupted - the one with ALL our post-ceremony (family) photos! This means I may not have a single photo with my parents, family, close friends and it is devastating. We did pre-ceremony photos with the wedding party (thank god!) but cannot quantify this loss of photos with family.

The worst part in all of this is knowing it was preventable - yes, this was a technology glitch but professional photographers have the capability to use 2 memory cards at the same time (one backing up the other) to prevent this very thing from happening. It was her job to take every precaution available incase this very thing happened. I'm not a professional photographer but wouldn't their motto be "always have a backup" when their business literally relies on it?

We spent a large % of our wedding budget (over $3000) to secure a reputable professional photographer and asked her sooooo many interview questions in advance. Our package came with 2 photographers, but to keep the flow of family moving efficiently, the 2nd photographer was rounding up all the troops according to our "shot list" while our primary photographer took all the photos. We quite literally have no back up.

Anybody else have experience with this, and what type of re-course did you have? Our photographer offered a partial refund however no amount of money can replace what we have lost, and never can we re-create the day. My family flew in from all over. Does a partial refund even sound fair? We didn't lose everything, but she failed at her job imo. I now have to break my mom's heart and tell her she has no photo with her daughter on her wedding day.

18 Comments