Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

T
Curious May 2023 Saskatchewan

Dress woes-advice on how to make it up to friends

Tara, on February 21, 2023 at 18:17 Posted in Before the wedding 0 9
So I found my dress in August. Was assured that the dress wouldn't take long to arrive (told it takes 6-8 weeks to make)
We did the start of a deposit in Sept, and then the rest of it in October

Stressed that it needed to be here by February at the latest (wedding is in may) as I am a baker, chocolatier and a childcare provider and that as of the end of March I would have no time to deal with dress stuff
Had them reassure me and a friend that it would arrive with plenty of time. I went in at the start of Feb and put more money on the dress (leaving only $400 outstanding) and said I would be in at the second last week of the month to finish paying and pick it up, told that wouldnt be a problem. So Feb 13 comes around and I call asking if I can come in to try the dress on as my friend that is doing make up with me will be in (to which she said no problem) to have her call back ten minutes later to say the dress wasn't there. She told me the owner of the salon would call me that day to update me as to where it was. Waited all week for her to call (I know I could have called but my anxiety was so high that I ended up sick) Friday rolled around and still no call so my friend that did the original portion of the deposit called to find out that the dress wont be here until second last week of March, but I could pay a rush fee but they couldn't give a date as to when the dress would arrive. The owner blamed me for talking to her sole employee and not her (she wasn't there when I phoned) and then blamed the manufacturer saying they don't always make once they get the order (My friend called the manufacturer who informed her that the dress is complete within 8 weeks of the order being placed)